Skip to content

School of Nursing

The School of Nursing offers programs for those seeking initial licensure as a Registered Nurse and for those who are already licensed with a desire to seek further education. We have expert faculty who are innovative and creative in designing learning activities to help students understand content and apply knowledge directly to clinical situations. We inspire our students to be servant leaders for the ministry of professional nursing who can go out into the world and make a difference in the lives of the populations they serve.
REQUEST INFO
APPLY NOW
Contact MNU
DEPARTMENT OF TRADITIONAL AND UNDERGRADUATE NURSING

2030 E. College Way
Olathe, KS 66062-1899
913-971-3844
nursing@mnu.edu

faculty

SCHOOL OF NURSING

Amanda
Addis
Assistant Professor of Nursing MSN, RN, CNE
  • MSN; 2013, University of Missouri Kansas City
  • BSN; 2008, Pittsburg State University
  • AS; 2006, Labette Community College
asaddis@mnu.edu
Anne
Mercer
Assistant Professor of Nursing MSN, RN
  • MSN; 2012, University of Missouri Kansas City, Nurse Educator
  • MSN; 1999, University of Missouri Kansas City, Women's Health
  • BSN; 1983, Grandview College
amercer@mnu.edu
Ashley
Hurt
Assistant Professor of Nursing MSN, RN
  • MSN; 2019, Pittsburg State University
  • BSN; 2011, Pittsburg State University
adhurt@mnu.edu
Danielle
Traudt
Assistant Professor of Nursing
  • RN. APRN/Nurse Practitioner
  • MS
  • BS
dmtraudt@mnu.edu
Gwen
Wagner
Associate Professor, Program Director, AGPCNP Program Director
  • DNP,
  • APRN,
  • ANP-C
ggwagner@mnu.edu
Jennifer L.
Ferguson
Associate Professor of Nursing DNP, MSN, RN
  • DNP; 2021, Point Loma Nazarene University
  • MSN; 2009, University of Missouri Kansas City
  • BSN; 2006, University of Missouri Kansas City
  • ASN; 2002, Cox College of Nursing
jlferguson@mnu.edu
Joanne
McDermott
Professor of Nursing PhD, RN
  • PhD(c); Curriculum and Teaching, 2014, University of Kansas
  • MA; Nursing Education, 1985, New York University
  • BSN; 1975, State University of New York
jhmcdermott@mnu.edu
Karen D.
Wiegman
Professor of Pre-licensure Nursing PhD, RN
  • PhD ; Collateral Area Medical and Nursing Ethics, 2003, University of Missouri-Kansas City
  • MSN; 1995, University of Kansas
  • BSN; 1992, University of Kansas
  • AAS, ADN; 1982, College of DuPage
kdwiegman@mnu.edu
Lauren
Loyd
Assistant Professor of Nursing
  • MSN, RN, NPD-BC, CNE
  • MSN; 2012; MidAmerica Nazarene University
  • BSN; 1999; Carlow College
laloyd@mnu.edu
Sarah
Miller
Dean, School of Nursing, Chair Graduate Nursing Associate Professor of Nursing EdD, DNP, APRN, FNP-C
  • DNP; 2021, University of Missouri-Columbia
  • EdD; 2015, Creighton University
  • MSN; 2010, MidAmerica Nazarene University
smmiller@mnu.edu
Stacy
Smith
Assistant Professor of Nursing MSN, RN, CPN
  • MSN; 2018, University of Central Missouri
  • BSN; 1995, Mid-America Nazarene University
sdsmith4@mnu.edu
Susan
Larson
Professor of Nursing PhD, RN
  • PhD; 2002, University of Kansas
  • MS; Nursing, 1989, University of Kansas
  • BSN; 1984, MidAmerica Nazarene University
slarson@mnu.edu
Susannah
Hart
Assistant Professor of Nursing, RN-BSN Coordinator, COVID-19 Coordinator
  • MSN; 2012, MidAmerica Nazarene University
  • BSN; 1989, University of Kansas
sahart2@mnu.edu
Tish
Conejo
Professor of Nursing
  • PhD, RN, WHNP-C
  • PhD ; Nursing, 2010, University of Kansas
  • MSN; 1993, University of Kansas
  • BSN; 1992, University of Kansas
  • ASN ; 1983, Kansas City Kansas Community College
peconejo@mnu.edu
Victoria
Haynes
Professor of Nursing DNP, APRN, FNP-C Coordinator of Diversity & Cultural Competency
  • Multicultural Education-Post Graduate Certificate; 2013
  • DNP; 2009,
  • MSN; 2005,
  • BSN; 2003
vmhaynes@mnu.edu

Nursing Staff

Heidi
Baldridge
Compliance Coordinator, RN-BSN, TBSN
JoVonda
Merrell
Compliance Coordinator, School of Nursing, MSN
Tammy
Sluyter
Compliance Coordinator, ABSN, TBSN
Teresa
Lamaster
SIM Lab Coordinator

Faculty Awards

Congratulations to Ashley Hurt on her 2020 – 2021 DAISY Foundation honor. Read Ashley Hurt’s spotlight

The DAISY Foundation, as a part of its service to the nursing profession’s role in patient care, established the DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nursing Faculty. The purpose of this program is to provide to colleges/schools of nursing a national recognition program they may use to demonstrate appreciation to educators for their commitment and inspirational influence on their students. The Foundation hopes that, in some way, this program will contribute to a positive work environment for faculty in schools.

Nominations are accepted until March 1st of each year and award recipients are selected each May.

Nominate an Extraordinary Nursing Faculty Member at MidAmerica Nazarene University today!

The DAISY (Diseases Attacking the Immune System) Award is an international recognition program that honors and celebrates the skillful, compassionate care nurses provide everyday. The DAISY Foundation was established by the family of J. Patrick Barnes after he died from complication of the auto-immune disease Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP) in 1999 at the age of 33. During his hospitalization, they deeply appreciated the care and compassion shown to Patrick and his entire family. When he died, they felt compelled to say “thank you” to nurses in a very public way. Please say thank you by sharing your story of how a nurse faculty member made a difference you will never forget!

Learn more about the DAISY Foundation by visiting www.daisyfoundation.org.

Past Daisy Faculty Award Recipients:

  • Dr. Jennifer Ferguson, 2018
  • Amanda Addis, 2019
  • Dr. Karen Wiegman, 2020
  • Ashley Hurt, 2021

Get in touch with us

First Name(Required)