MNU news

Summer 2016: Alumni News



Dean Flemming (’75) authored the book Why Missions?, published by Abingdon Press in December 2015. Part of the Reforming New Testament Theology series, the book explores how the New Testament bears witness to the mission of God and how it energizes the church to participate in that mission.



Charlotte (Pickenpaugh ’79) Holter earned the Doctor of Education degree in curriculum and instruction: integrative STEM education from Virginia Tech. 



Christine Chalstrom (’82) was selected as one of the 50 Minnesotans of The (Real) Power 50. The honor was awarded due to her outstanding business sense and exemplary business efforts in the company she cofounded, Sadie Blue Software. Chalstrom is also CEO of Shepherd Data Services.  



Jerry Storz (’82) was promoted to program director for Christian Education Ministries and Leadership and Ethics at Nazarene Bible College.



Sally (Jones ’82) Swenson was selected as one of Iowa’s 100 Great Nurses for her excellent work as well as her contribution as a “teacher, leader, and mentor of fellow nurses and students.”



William Sawyer (’83), formerly vice president for financial services at TransUnion and senior pastor of Santa Ana, California, First Church of the Nazarene, will serve as chief administrative officer of the Global Ministry Center for the Church of the Nazarene. 



Michael Copeland (’84) was recently named market president at Bank of Blue Valley – Olathe.



Susan (Sciolaro ’84) Lynch is now the executive vice president and CFO of Sungard Availability Services.





 Mark Noyes (’86) is now senior business analyst at Macy’s Systems and Technology. 



Tim Murray (’87) earned his EdD in administrative leadership from Baker University on March 3, 2016. His dissertation was titled, "The Effect of the Number of Involuntary School-to-School Transitions on Student Performance on the Kansas State Reading and Mathematics Assessments."



Jeremi (Heiney ’88, MEd '05) Wonch was awarded the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (Kansas), by the National Science Foundation.



Jonathan Foster (’91) won a Gold award in the 2016 Independent Publisher Book Awards for his book, Where Was God on the Worst Day of My Life



Jon North (’92, MBA ’95) earned his EdD in ethical leadership from Olivet Nazarene University. 



Debra Rodenbaugh-Schaub (’92) completed her term as district governor of Rotary International District 5710. 



Joyce (Barnett ’93) Halbert is now an executive administrative assistant at Michael Jr. Productions. 



Dr. Jeff DeGraffenreid (’96, MEd ’99), Fire Chief of the Olathe Fire Department, accepted an elite rating for fire protection service on behalf of himself and the department. Along with only 38 other fire departments across the U.S., Olathe now holds a Class 1 ISO rating as recognized by the Commission on Fire Accreditation International (CFAI). 



Carin Stutz (MBA ’97) has been named COO of Red Robin Gourmet Burgers. Previously she was president of McAlister’s Deli. 



Jason Lovelace (’97) became an instructor of ESL and eighth grade advisor at The Stuart Hall School in August 2015.



Wes Wadman (’97) was promoted to director of population health and payment risk solutions at Sutherland Healthcare Solutions.



Robert Brenneman (’99) was promoted to operations manager at CORE Global Service Assurance Ericsson. 



Kimberly Michaelis (’02) is now an orchestra teacher at Wheatridge Middle School in the Gardner-Edgerton School District in Kansas. 



Travis Emerson (’03) is now strategic account manager for Energy and NERC Compliance at Tripwire. 



Matthew Parker (FS ’05) was promoted to engineer with the Olathe Fire Department. 



Kristin Mallory (MEd ’07), physical education teacher and coach at Southwest Middle School, in Lawrence, Kansas, was named Lawrence Secondary Teacher of the Year.





Tomas Hernandez (’08) is now a social work intern at the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. 



Daniel York (’08) is now working as a service delivery analyst at Cerner Corporation. 



Wendy Bennett (MAC ’09) is now a therapist at Kids TLC in Olathe, Kansas. 



Andy Davey (’09) became general manager at Destination Properties.  



Bridgette Bausby-Tanner (’11) is now an operations strategy analyst at Farmers Insurance Group of Companies. 



Jeffrey Johnson (FS ’11) is now a bookkeeper at Law Office of Roger Falk. 



Josiah Crandall (’14) produced a film, Off Book, which was selected to premiere at the 2016 Kansas City Film Festival. 






Britney Grittman (’14) is now head coach of women’s volleyball at Southern Arkansas University.  



Jameson Braddock (’15) is now a sales development representative at Conversica.



Ashley Dado (’15) is now Project Rise assistant at Children’s Mercy Hospital.  




Mario Felix (’15) is the new head coach of the men’s soccer program at Bethel College. Prior to this position, Mario was the general manager and team coach of Colorado Rush Soccer Club.








Have news? 

Want to share births, marriages, new jobs and accomplishments with Accent? Please send to or connect with us on social media. 

It doesn't matter how you connect with us, we just want to hear from you!




Accent Summer 2020
This Issue

Summer 2021

Momentum builds with new construction, the return to in-person Commencement and athletic success despite the pandemic! Enjoy this issue of Accent Summer 2021.

need help?
Office of News & Public Relations
Carol Best, Public Relations Manager
2030 E. College Way
Olathe, KS 66062-1899